This project is read-only.

Is DasBlog still alive / active?

Aug 9, 2009 at 9:12 AM
Edited Aug 9, 2009 at 9:17 AM

Hi there,

I am an professional C# developer and looking for a blogging tool (written C#/.Net) for my new website. I found and set up DasBlog but not really sure if I should go on with it. Several issues makes me think this project is not really active neither maintained nicely:

• Hosting DasBlog in a subdir seems not really to fly (at least not without a lot of "investigation")
  • Image gallery does not really work (at least not on FF 3.5)
  • Kind of difficult to find out what some features are and how to get them work
  • User-Interface looks a little "patch-worked"
  • Documentation says "pretty self explaining" where it isn't and is not really complete (last update 2007)
  • Documentation is very confusing (probably because of the blog-style documentation)
  • Reading the forum shows many unanswered topics
  • Documentation-Link on CodeProject "Home" is wrong
  • DasBlog.net seems to be advertising now

Is this first impression just wrong and DasBlog is still a very active and lovely maintained project? Should one really start with DasBlog today? Can you recommend it?

Yes, I know that DasBlog is open-source, free and not a commercial / professional project. This is not to blame the project but to get a feeling about the state of the project at all. Finally devs interested may get some information out of this how to improve the first impression of the project.

Cheers,
Marc

Aug 9, 2009 at 6:05 PM

I would say all your observations are pretty accurate, dasBlog is a mature if not perfect product, and the core dev team have other interests, so the project is in low maintenance mode (my opinion).

But I will try to address some of the issues, while not recommending you stay or leave dasBlog.

Hosting dasBlog in a subdirectory is doable as long as the directory is a IIS Virtual root.